Gnocchi!

10 Aug

(Hee that word makes me giggle.)

Gnocchi is one of my trigger words on a menu (along with “mushroom” and “macaroni and cheese,” among other things). I tried to make it the other day with some potatoes that were threatening to sprout, with fairly positive results.

Next time, I’ll think I’ll add more flour because my dough was slightly too sticky. The pieces stuck as I pressed my fork into them, resulting in really ugly gnocchi. I was also a tad overenthusiastic with the size of my gnocchi…I had eat each piece in three bites. Bobby, of course, had no problem swallowing each one whole.

My ugly gnocchi reminded me a lot of this dish my grandma frequently made for me as a kid called 麵疙瘩 (literally, flour knot). She’d mix flour and water to form a paste and drop dollops of it into boiling water so that they’d cook as formless lumps. It would then be served in a thick soup. Try as I might, I could never reproduce this dish. My grandma is probably magical or something.

Gnocchi
Adapted from Mario Batali on Food Network

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds russet potatoes
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg, extra large
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup canola oil

Boil the whole potatoes until they are soft (about 45 minutes). I didn’t have a vegetable mill as the recipe calls for, so I just mashed the soft potatoes up with a fork. This is probably why my dough was too sticky, because I probably broke some of the water-containing cells. Try using a potato ricer instead, if you have one.

Set 6 quarts of water to boil in a large spaghetti pot. Set up ice bath with 6 cups ice and 6 cups water near boiling water.

Make well in center of potatoes and sprinkle all over with flour, using all the flour. Place egg and salt in center of well and using a fork, stir into flour and potatoes. Once egg is mixed in, bring dough together, kneading gently until a ball is formed. Knead gently another 4 minutes until ball is dry to touch.

Roll baseball-sized ball of dough into 3/4-inch diameter dowels and cut dowels into 1-inch long pieces. Press fork tines into each piece to get the ridge-y shape.

Drop these pieces into boiling water and cook until they float (about 1 minute). As gnocchi float to top of boiling water, remove them to ice bath.  Let sit several minutes in bath and drain from ice and water. Serve with your choice of sauce.

Length of procrastination: 1 hour 30 minutes

2 Responses to “Gnocchi!”

  1. Jackie August 10, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Oooooh! Nom nom nom nom nom! So pretty too :)

  2. blee August 10, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    hunger

Leave a Reply

