Ciabatta Bread

4 Nov

So this post is grossly overdue because all the bread has been consumed. Actually, all the bread was consumed about three hours after it came out of the oven, but I digress.

My parents got me a gorgeous green KitchenAid mixer (!!!!!) as a graduation present in June, but it wasn’t until I moved to Davis that I broke it in. Using this recipe from Raccoon and Lobster (one of my absolute favorite cooking blogs evarr), I endeavored to make ciabatta bread.

For some reason, my dough started climbing as soon as I switched to my dough hook. Within five minutes, it was peeling away from the sides of the bowl and thwapping away. I started studying for a bit, and the mixer would’ve fallen off the counter had my roommate not grabbed it. That’s what I get for being a nerd, I guess.

I let the dough rise over the preheating oven which, in retrospect was probably not the best idea. The yeast went insane and tripled in something like half an hour. Oops.

5 minutes later.

30 minutes later.

Yeah, okay that was insane. Anyway, I also went a  little overboard with dusting the dough/baking pan. I was really afraid of the bread sticking and burning, so I covered the thing in layers and layers of flour. Sadly, I had no cornmeal. I ended up with a lot of burnt flour that could be tapped off when the loaf was cut.

Rather successful for my second foray into bread-baking, I think. Next up…sourdough?

5 Responses to “Ciabatta Bread”

  1. Mikaela November 4, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    YUMMMMMMMM

  2. elenasc November 4, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Ciabatta is really yummy, and perfect to make bruschetta! Thanks!

  3. Leslie November 5, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    You HAVE to make your own sourdough starter!!! California has some of the best wild yeast ever for sourdough bread :D :D

    • Christine November 5, 2010 at 12:13 am #

      I’ve been wanting to make starter since I figured out this whole yeast thing! Where can I obtain some of this wild yeast? Organic grapes? Any recommended sources? :D

  4. Christina Y December 6, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    Congrats on the stand mixer! This bread looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

