Really Fat Noodles

3 Mar

Ahh it’s been a long time. Sorry! School is becoming a nightmare (but the best kind), and I haven’t had much time to making anything worth eating, much less blog about. Davis was hit by a rather odd series of cold fronts the past few weeks, so I’ve been going with lots of canned soup and pasta to keep warm. A few days ago, though, I decided that I couldn’t take it anymore. I was so sick of “Vegetable Medley” or “Italian Style Vegetable” that I decided to break out the knives and get some fresh vegetables in my tummy.

Have I ever mentioned that there are no Asian supermarkets in Davis? This bok choy was imported from the Bay Area when my parents came to visit. They also brought me these whole wheat knife-cut noodles.

I have a confession to make. If necessary, I could live on noodles, specifically fat, chewy noodles, for the rest of my life. That, and probably a multivitimin. As a kid, I used to steal noodles from my family members’ bowls and replace them with meat/vegetables/other miscellany floating in soup.

Anyway, I was bit wary of how frozen noodles would taste, but these turned out really, really well! They only require 5-10 minutes to reach their chewy, QQ consistency. Throw in a bit of miso paste, and you’ve got dinner.

The lumpy white things floating in the soup were also from my parents. They’re apparently mushroom strips,  but they have the consistency of very chewy fish balls. I’m not sure how I feel about them just yet, but the package say they have a fair amount of protein in them. They aren’t bad, but I’ve never really been a fan of imitation meat. Although these claim to be mushroom. Huh.

Length of procrastination: 15 minutes! Then back to studying.

3 Responses to “Really Fat Noodles”

  1. Yallie March 8, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    my mom buys these (not the whole wheat ones though, blech!) back home- surprisingly yummy :D
    have been trying to find them out here in ny.. :'(

  2. Andrew March 9, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    I hear there are plenty of Asian supermarkets in San Diego, but unfortunately, I’m SOL without a car. Your usage of QQ especially makes me miss San Jo-zee :(

  3. paddington bear March 10, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    hah..today’s a nice day for that kind of soup…i’ve never bought those thick cut noodles b4, but i’ll look for it next time.

    and we do have an asian market called kim’s mart on 4th in between e and f. it’s really small, but better than nothing.

    kim’s mart

Leave a Reply

