Red Velvet Cupcakes

8 Mar

My classmates seem to really like red velvet cupcakes, so I’ve made them several times for birthdays these past few months. Personally, I’m not a fan of 3 tbsp red food coloring and the consequences to my fingers, but this recipe was actually really tasty!

Unfortunately, taste was their only redeeming quality, as I put a little too much batter in each cup and they became great ugly overflowing mounds of red. Plus, the middles sunk in! I wonder if it had something to do with oven temperature being too high and the cake rising too quickly without solidifying the batter underneath or leaving the batter out for too long and having the vinegar/baking soda reaction burn out or replacing buttermilk with yogurt or….

Oh well. Nobody can tell because the cupcakes are covered with frosting. One cupcake had sunken in all the way though, so I just ate it. Nobody has to know it ever existed.

If you’re making this frosting recipe, I’d probably 1.5x it or something. I only had enough for ten cupcakes out of the dozen, even after scraping down the sides of the bowl and abstaining from licking the spatula.

You can find the original recipe at Brown Eyed Baker. I used 2 tbsp of food coloring + 1 tbsp water instead of 3 tbsp food coloring, and as you can see the cupcakes turned out plenty red! Also, I substituted the 1/2 cup of buttermilk with the same amount of Trader Joe’s vanilla yogurt.

Length of procrastination: 45 minutes

6 Responses to “Red Velvet Cupcakes”

  1. ana March 8, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    I’ve found that the middles of cupcakes tend to sink in more when they’re filled too much, but I don’t really know why.. *shrug* there must be some chemistry/physics to it!

    • Christine March 9, 2011 at 3:16 am #

      Oh! Must be something about the batter spilling over so the gas is now pushing sideways instead of up and *mumble mumble…*

      I’ll try this same recipe again next time with less batter and we’ll see if they sink again…thanks for the tip! <3

  2. paddington bear March 10, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    i never got one =(

    • Christine March 10, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      It’s not your birthday yet. :P

  3. Bar Stools March 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Looks great !! I want some !!

  4. Phill Kid April 7, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    sunken cakes are the best…just think of all the fillings. Mmmmm

Leave a Reply

