Second Try Syndrome…(Banana Cream Pie)

24 Apr

I suffer from a horrible, debilitating disease I call Second Try Syndrome. It turns my egg yolks into foam, renders my custards sugarless, and leaves pie crusts half-filled.

The first time I attempt a recipe, I read each line of directions twice. I measure out each ingredient before I begin and never forget to preheat the oven. You know…like a normal person.

The second time around, I start glancing instead of reading. I do some things from memory. I stop paying close attention to my KitchenAid and just let it run.

When I made this banana cream pie the first time, the result was a gorgeously smooth custard. The second time? Ehh…it solidified. So. Lesson learned. Don’t overbeat your eggs. Don’t forget to add the sugar. Or the cornstarch. And don’t be lazy and make your own damn crust.

Banana Cream Pie
Recipe courtesy of DK and his boss

1 1/2 cup whole milk
1 vanilla bean and pod, halved lengthwise and scraped (I substituted 1 tbsp vanilla extract)
4 large egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsp unsalted butter
2-3 large bananas, sliced

In a saucepan over medium heat, scald the milk and vanilla, taking care not to let it boil over. In another bowl, beat the egg yolks, sugar, and cornstarch until smooth. Temper the eggs with hot milk, then pour through a sieve back into the saucepan.

Heat over medium-low heat, whisking constantly, until the custard thickens. Pour through sieve over butter into a separate bowl and cover with saran wrap. Make sure to poke holes in the saran wrap to let out steam, and let cool in the fridge for about 20 minutes.

While the custard is cooling, prepare the pie pan. A graham cracker crust works well with this pie, but my store-bought one cracked when I tried to serve it. DK makes a crust from the recipe on the Honey Graham box. In any case, line the crust with sliced bananas. I used several layers of thinly sliced bananas since this is the only source of the banana flavor.

When the custard is cool, pour it into the crust and smooth with the back of a spoon. Top with whipped cream and refrigerate for at least 12 hours.

Be careful with the pie. If you’re too excited to shove it in your mouth, this might happen:

And that’s just sad. :(

Length of procrastination: 1 hour of hands-on time, if you’re not stupid like me. 12 hours of omgomgomg-can-I-eat-it-yet? time.

Leave a Reply

