Foodhack: Salted Coffee

29 Sep

This came from my officemate at work, and is simply one of those revelations you marvel at and wonder where it’s been all your life. This post is not quite a cooking post, I guess, but it does have to do with your gastronomic experience.

Put a few grains of salt in bitter coffee to make it taste milder.

That’s it. If you have a coffee that has a deep bitterness (that is perhaps more than you’d normally enjoy), sprinkle no more than 10 grains of salt into it, stir it around, and it instantly becomes a milder roast.

Don’t believe me? I tried to combine my Trader Joe’s medium roast and Kirkland’s dark roast today (yea, blame me for not having really good coffee) and it just came out a bit darker than I’d like. But instead of adding water which dilutes the caffeine and gives you more volume to consume, I added a tiny bit of salt at my officemate’s suggestion. It was instantly a light roast, although it lost a bit of depth. In fact I think I added too much salt – I pressed my finger down to get less than half a pinch of salt and I think it was too much.

Leave a Reply

